Jetzt Spenden

08.06.2021

Emergency relief for refugees in Rwanda

The Evangelical Church in the Rhineland, the Evangelical Church of Westphalia and the United Evangelical Mission (UEM) are providing 45,000 euros in emergency aid to the Presbyterian Church in Rwanda (EPR) so that it can help refugees. The EPR, a member church of the UEM with around 300,000 members, can thus directly support the people who had to leave their home in Goma and the neighbouring villages in the neighbouring country (Democratic Republic of Congo) because of the eruption of the Nyiragongo volcano. Most of them have sought refuge in the border town of Gisenyi.

The EPR helps, among other things, with the initial care of the refugees in emergency shelters, with food, clothing and other everyday items. The money is also urgently needed to ensure medical care, especially for children, pregnant women and people with disabilities. In addition, EPR staff provide psychological and pastoral care to traumatised people.

When the Nyiragongo volcano erupted on the evening of 22 May 2021 about 20 kilometres north of the Congolese city of Goma, it triggered a mass exodus. Fearing another eruption, the authorities ordered a partial evacuation of the city. Around 400,000 people left Goma in panic and fled to other cities in the region and towards the border with Rwanda. The authorities in Rwanda opened the border and allowed 14,000 people to cross by 27 May.

Currently, the lava flow from the Nyiragongo volcano has stopped; however, the extent of the destruction for the people in the region is great: the hot lava flows have destroyed parts of Goma: homes, shops, schools and health facilities as well as the electricity and water supply have been paralysed. Houses have been looted. Families have been separated and children have gone missing in the panic. More than 75 per cent of the agricultural land around Goma has been burnt, meaning that upcoming harvests are thus cancelled. The N2 national road from Goma to Rutshuru became impassable, cutting off access to the villages of Kayanja, Buganda and Bugiro.

Nyiragongo is located in the Virunga National Park in the east of the Democratic Republic of Congo near the border with Rwanda and is one of the world's most active volcanoes. It last erupted in 2002. At that time, lava flows destroyed large parts of Goma. Several hundred people died, around 120,000 were left homeless.

Donation account: United Evangelical Mission
KD-Bank eG
IBAN DE 45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08
Keyword: EPR refugees
or online via the website
 

Brunhild von Local

Spendenkonto

IBAN: DE45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08

SWIFT/BIC: GENODED1DKD

Kontakt

info@vemission.org

0202-89004-0

Spenderservice

projekteundspenden@vemission.org

0202-89004-195

Pressestelle

presse@vemission.org

0202-89004-135

Jetzt Spenden

08.06.2021

Hilfe für Vulkan-Geflüchtete in Ruanda

45.000 Euro Nothilfe stellen die Evangelische Kirche im Rheinland, die Evangelische Kirche von Westfalen und die Vereinte Evangelische Mission (VEM) der Presbyterianischen Kirche in Ruanda (EPR) zur Verfügung, damit diese Flüchtlingen helfen kann. Die EPR, eine Mitgliedskirche der VEM mit rund 300.000 Mitgliedern, kann damit unmittelbar die Menschen unterstützen, die wegen des Ausbruchs des Vulkans Nyiragongo ihre Heimat Goma und die angrenzenden Dörfer im Nachbarland (Demokratische Republik Kongo) verlassen mussten. Die meisten von ihnen haben in der Grenzstadt Gisenyi Zuflucht gesucht.

Die EPR hilft unter anderem bei der Erstversorgung der Geflüchteten in Notunterkünften, mit Nahrungsmitteln, mit Kleidung und anderen Alltagsgegenständen. Das Geld wird auch dringend benötigt, um die medizinische Versorgung insbesondere für Kinder, Schwangere und Menschen mit Behinderungen sicherzustellen. Zudem helfen Mitarbeitende der EPR traumatisierten Menschen psychologisch und seelsorgerlich.

Als am Abend des 22. Mai 2021 der Vulkan Nyiragongo rund 20 Kilometer nördlich der kongolesischen Stadt Goma ausbrach, löste dies eine Massenflucht aus. Aus Angst vor einem erneuten Ausbruch hatten die Behörden eine Teilevakuierung der Stadt angeordnet. Rund 400.000 Menschen verließen in Panik Goma und sind unter anderem in andere Städte der Region und in Richtung der Grenze zu Ruanda geflohen. Die Behörden in Ruanda öffneten die Grenze und ließen bis zum 27. Mai 14.000 Menschen passieren.

Derzeit ist der Lavastrom des Nyiragongo-Vulkans zwar gestoppt; das Ausmaß der Zerstörung für die Menschen in der Region ist groß: Die heißen Lavaströme haben Teile Gomas zerstört: Wohnhäuser, Geschäfte, Schulen und Gesundheitseinrichtungen sowie die Strom- und Wasserversorgung lahmgelegt. Häuser wurden geplündert. Familien wurden im Zuge der Panik getrennt und Kinder vermisst. Mehr als 75 Prozent der landwirtschaftlichen Fläche um Goma verbrannten, bevorstehende Ernten fallen damit aus. Die Nationalstraße N2 von Goma nach Rutshuru wurde mit dem Durchfluss des Lavastroms unpassierbar, der Zugang zu den Dörfern Kayanja, Buganda und Bugiro abgeschnitten.

Der Nyiragongo liegt im Virunga-Nationalpark im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo nahe der Grenze zu Ruanda und gehört zu den weltweit aktivsten Vulkanen. Zuletzt war er 2002 ausgebrochen. Damals hatten Lavaströme weite Teile Gomas zerstört. Mehrere Hundert Menschen starben, rund 120.000 wurden obdachlos. Hier unser Sondermailing für unsere Spenderinnen und Spender.

Spendenkonto: Vereinte Evangelische Mission

KD-Bank eG
IBAN DE 45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08
Stichwort: EPR-Flüchtlinge
oder hier online auf dieser Website.

Brunhild von Local

Spendenkonto

IBAN: DE45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08

SWIFT/BIC: GENODED1DKD

Kontakt

info@vemission.org

0202-89004-0

Spenderservice

projekteundspenden@vemission.org

0202-89004-195

Pressestelle

presse@vemission.org

0202-89004-135

X

Wir verwenden Cookies

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige sind notwendig, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und Ihre Erfahrung zu verbessern.

Piwik-Code