International Leadership

The members of the UEM Council from Africa, Asia and Germany have been elected for a legislative period of four years at the general assembly in 2016 in Rwanda which has been extended by the general assembly in 2018 in Indonensia up to 2021. From the year 2021 on, the legislative period comprises six years.

General Secretary

General Secretary Rev. Volker Martin Dally
Rudolfstr. 137
D-42285 Wuppertal
Ute Mruck
Assistant to the General Secretary
Rudolfstr. 137
D-42285 Wuppertal
+49 (0)202-89004171

UEM's governance structure

The governing organs of the United Evangelical Mission are established in the Constitution:

  • The General Assembly
  • The Council
  • The Management Team

See a chart of UEM's governance structure

The Council 2016 - 2021

  • Individual Members of the UEM Council 2016-2021

    Dr h.c. Willem Simarmata (Indonesia) Moderator
    Bishop Dr. Abednego Keshomshahara (Tanzania) Vice Moderator
    Mrs. Jane Ewoule (Cameroon)
    Bishop Dr. Jered Kalimba (Rwanda)
    Rev. Daphne Guriras (Namibia)
    Rev. Rosmalia Barus (Indonesia) Vice Moderator
    Bishop Rumanja Purba (Indonesia)
    Mrs. Tetty Aritonang (Indonesia)
    Bishop Reuel Marigza (Philippines)
    OKR Dr. Ulrich Möller (Germany) Vice Moderator
    Mrs. Marion Unger (Germany)
    Rev. Thomas Fender (Germany)
    Mrs. Dr. Helga Rau (Germany)
    Diotim Meyer (Germany) youth representative

The General Assembly consists of 73 delegates and is re-formed every six years starting from 2021, but meets every three years.

The Council comprises 14 delegates from the General Assembly.

  • the Moderator
  • four persons from each UEM region
  • and one young adult

The Council advises and supervises the Management Team, elects the General Secretary, and appoints the General Secretariat and the Executive Secretaries as members of the Management Team.

The Management Team

  • Members of the Management Team

    (from left) Rev. Dr Dyah Krismawati, Executive Secretary Asia; Rev. Dr John Wesley Kabango, Executive Secretary Africa; Rev. Dr Claudia Währisch-Oblau, Executive Secretary Evangelism; Rev. Dr Jochen Motte, Executive Secretary Peace, Justice & Integrity of Creation and deputy General Secretary; Rev. Volker Martin Dally, General Secretary; Timo Pauler, Executive Secretary Finance & Administration and deputy General Secretary; Rev. Dr Andar Pasaribu Parlindungan, Executive Secretary Training & Empowerment; Angelika Veddeler, Executive Secretary Germany

The Management Team consists of up to eight persons, all of whom except the General Secretary are appointed for a term of four years.
The UEM Management Team is not to be confused with the "Executive Committee" (Vorstand) described in §26 of the German Civil Code, which at the UEM is known as the General Secretariat and has three members:  

  • the General Secretary
  • the Executive Secretary for Finance and Administration
  • one other Executive Secretary

The General Secretary chairs the Management Team as well as the General Secretariat. The General Secretary has an eight-year term and is eligible for re-election.

The Regional Assemblies are organised as committees of the General Assembly. Each of these regional assemblies consists of the General Assembly delegates from that region along with additional delegates from the region. The Regional Assemblies meet in the off-years of the General Assembly.

UEM's working structure

See a chart of the UEM working structure

The UEM Constitution allows for a maximum of seven Executive Secretaries, who together with the General Secretary comprise the Management Team.

The Regional and Programmatic Departments

The regional work for Africa and Asia takes place in two locations: in Wuppertal and Dar es Salaam (Tanzania) for Africa, and in Wuppertal and Medan (Indonesia) for Asia. The regional offices are headed by the Executive Secretary for Africa and the Executive Secretary for Asia, respectively each of these Executive Secretaries has Deputy Executive Secretaries who are appointed in Wuppertal. The offices in Dar es Salaam and Medan each have their own additional Deputy Executive Secretaries, each of whom has their own Programme Officer. The offices in Africa and Asia are primarily responsible for planning and implementing joint programmes.

As before, the German region takes care of most of the programmes in the conference halls in Wuppertal and Bethel. The Ecumenical Workshop in Wuppertal has been expanded into the Centre for Mission and Leadership Studies Wuppertal; the Ecumenical Workshop in Bethel has become the Centre for Mission and Diakonia, which houses the Programme on International Diaconia.

The Training and Empowerment Division will have its international training programmes expanded further, above all in the areas of Missiology and Leadership. The Training and Empowerment Division also encompasses the UEM's international working areas of work with women, scholarships, the volunteer programme, and the international youth programmes.

Two programme divisions are responsible for the subject areas of Evangelism and Justice, Peace, and the Integrity of Creation.

Social Media

UEM Germany at Facebook

Annual Report 2018 (German version)




Phone: 0202 89004-0
E-Mail: info[at]
Address und Contact


IBAN: DE45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08

Social Media