Jetzt Spenden

02.05.2022

Devastating economic and political crisis in Sri Lanka

[Translate to Englisch:]

Every day, people demonstrate in the capital of Colombo and demand the resignation of the government. © Fotos: Jochen Motte/UEM

The church president of the Methodist Church of Sri Lanka, Rev. Joseph Ebenezer, in conversation with UEM Executive Board member Jochen Motte.

A severe economic and political crisis has been shaking Sri Lanka for weeks. The government can no longer pay its foreign debts, and national bankruptcy is looming. This has drastic consequences for the civilian population: Prices for food and raw materials such as gasoline have tripled in some cases. Many essential everyday goods are no longer available, and even medicines in hospitals are becoming scarce. The Sri Lankan population accuses the government of being responsible for the crisis, and Corona and the current Ukraine conflict have now dramatically exacerbated the situation. Every day, people demonstrate in the capital of Colombo and demand the resignation of the government.

The UEM Fellowship, represented by Dr. Jochen Motte, Deputy General Secretary of the UEM, conveys solidarity and sympathy to its member, the Methodist Church in Sri Lanka. "The people are affected by immediate poverty. Many do not even have one meal a day. Sick people are dying because of the lack of essential medicines," says church president, Rev. Joseph Ebenezer. " The solidarity visit has a great meaning for us. It shows a willingness to support us in this crisis and to draw attention to the suffering of the people."

Together with representatives of Misereor and Bread for the World, the visit also serves to get an overview of the situation on the ground. In talks with churches and civil society, they will discuss what measures can be taken to support the people in Sri Lanka.

Spendenkonto

IBAN: DE45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08

SWIFT/BIC: GENODED1DKD

Kontakt

info@vemission.org

0202-89004-0

Spenderservice

spenden@vemission.org

0202-89004-195

Pressestelle

presse@vemission.org

0202-89004-135

Jetzt Spenden

02.05.2022

Verheerende wirtschaftliche und politische Krise in Sri Lanka

Demonstrant*innen gehen in der Hauptstadt Columbo täglich auf die Straße und fordern den Rücktritt der Regierung. © Fotos: Jochen Motte/VEM

Der Kirchenpräsident der methodisitschen Kirche Sri Lanka, Pfarrer Joseph Ebenezer, im Gespräch mit VEM-Vorstand Jochen Motte

Eine schwere wirtschaftliche und politische Krise erschüttert seit Wochen Sri Lanka. Die Regierung kann die Auslandsschulden nicht mehr begleichen, ein Staatsbankrott droht. Das hat drastische Konsequenzen für die Zivilbevölkerung: Die Preise für Lebensmittel und Rohstoffe wie Benzin haben sich zum Teil verdreifacht. Viele lebenswichtige Alltagsgüter sind nicht mehr verfügbar, auch die Medikamente in Krankenhäusern werden knapp. Die Bevölkerung Sri Lankas beschuldigt die Regierung für die Krise verantwortlich zu sein und Corona sowie der aktuelle Ukraine-Konflikt haben die Situation nun dramatisch verschärft. Demonstrant*innen gehen in der Hauptstadt Columbo täglich auf die Straße und fordern den Rücktritt der Regierung.

Die VEM-Gemeinschaft, vertreten durch Dr. Jochen Motte, stellvertretender Generalsekretär der VEM, übermittelt Solidarität und Anteilnahme ihrem Mitglied, der Methodistischen Kirche in Sri Lanka. „Die Menschen sind von unmittelbarer Armut betroffen. Viele haben noch nicht mal eine Mahlzeit am Tag. Kranke sterben aufgrund des Mangels an lebensnotwendigen Medikamenten“, sagt  Kirchenpräsident, Pfarrer Joseph Ebenezer. „ Der Solidaritätsbesuch hat für uns eine große Bedeutung. Er zeigt die Bereitschaft, uns in dieser Krise zu unterstützen und auf das Leid der Menschen aufmerksam zu machen.“

Gemeinsam mit Vertreter*innen von Misereor und Brot für die Welt dient der Besuch auch dazu, einen Überblick über die Situation vor Ort zu erhalten. In Gesprächen mit Kirchen und der Zivilgesellschaft wird beraten, mit welchen Maßnahmen die Menschen in Sri Lanka unterstützt werden können.

Spendenkonto

IBAN: DE45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08

SWIFT/BIC: GENODED1DKD

Kontakt

info@vemission.org

0202-89004-0

Spenderservice

spenden@vemission.org

0202-89004-195

Pressestelle

presse@vemission.org

0202-89004-135

X

Wir verwenden Cookies

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige sind notwendig, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und Ihre Erfahrung zu verbessern.

Piwik-Code