Jetzt Spenden
  • International Leadership

    The members of the UEM Council from Africa, Asia and Germany have been elected for a legislative period of four years at the general assembly in 2022 in Germany.

UEM's governance structure

The governing organs of the United Evangelical Mission are established in the Constitution:

  • The General Assembly
  • The Council
  • The Management Team


The Council 2022 - 2027

The General Assembly consists of 73 delegates and is re-formed every six years starting from 2021, but meets every three years.

The Council comprises 14 delegates from the General Assembly.

  • the Moderator
  • four persons from each UEM region
  • and one young adult

The Council advises and supervises the Management Team, elects the General Secretary, and appoints the General Secretariat and the Executive Secretaries as members of the Management Team.

The Management Team

Members of the Management Team

(from left) Rev. Dr Dyah Krismawati, Executive Secretary Asia; Rev. Dr John Wesley Kabango, Executive Secretary Africa; Rev. Dr Claudia Währisch-Oblau, Executive Secretary Evangelism - following a reduction of her job position Mrs. Währisch-Oblau no longer belongs to the Management Team since 2021; Rev. Dr Jochen Motte, Executive Secretary Peace, Justice & Integrity of Creation and deputy General Secretary; Rev. Volker Martin Dally, General Secretary; Timo Pauler, Executive Secretary Finance & Administration and deputy General Secretary; Rev. Dr Andar Pasaribu Parlindungan, Executive Secretary Training & Empowerment; Angelika Veddeler, Executive Secretary Germany

The Management Team consists of up to eight persons, all of whom except the General Secretary are appointed for a term of four years.
The UEM Management Team is not to be confused with the "Executive Committee" (Vorstand) described in §26 of the German Civil Code, which at the UEM is known as the General Secretariat and has three members:  

  • the General Secretary
  • the Executive Secretary for Finance and Administration
  • one other Executive Secretary

The General Secretary chairs the Management Team as well as the General Secretariat. The General Secretary has an eight-year term and is eligible for re-election.

The Regional Assemblies are organised as committees of the General Assembly. Each of these regional assemblies consists of the General Assembly delegates from that region along with additional delegates from the region. The Regional Assemblies meet in the off-years of the General Assembly.

UEM's working structure

See a chart of the UEM working structure

The UEM Constitution allows for a maximum of seven Executive Secretaries, who together with the General Secretary comprise the Management Team.

Three Regional and Three Programmatic Departments

Three Regional Departments

The regional work for Africa and Asia takes place in two locations: in Wuppertal and Dar es Salaam (Tanzania) for Africa, and in Wuppertal and Pematangsiantar (Indonesia) for Asia. The regional offices are headed by the Executive Secretary for Africa and the Executive Secretary for Asia, respectively each of these Executive Secretaries has Deputy Executive Secretaries who are appointed in Wuppertal. The offices in Dar es Salaam and Pematangsiantar each have their own additional Deputy Executive Secretaries, each of whom has their own Program Officer. The offices in Africa and Asia are primarily responsible for planning and implementing joint programs.

The German region takes care of most of the programs in connection with the conception of "Global Learning in Ecumenical Perspective" (GLEP) in Wuppertal. After the handover of the former Mission House in Bethel, the desk for International Diakonia is now housed in Haus Terach on the premises of the von Bodelschwinghschen Stiftungen Bethel in Bielefeld.

Three Programmatic Departments

The Training and Empowerment Division will have its international training programs expanded further, above all in the areas of missiology and leadership. The Training and Empowerment Division also encompasses the UEM's international working areas of work with women, scholarships, the volunteer program, and the international youth programs.

Two programme divisions are responsible for the subject areas of Evangelism and Justice, Peace, and the Integrity of Creation.


Photo: Studio Kepper/UEM
Rev. Volker Martin Dally
General Secretary of UEM
Rudolfstr. 137 D-42285 Wuppertal
+49 202-89004-171
Photo: A. Jäger/UEM
Ute Mruck
Assistant to the General Secretary
Rudolfstr. 137 D-42285 Wuppertal
+49 0202-89004-171
Foto: privat
Dr. Martina Pauly
Rudolfstrasse 137
42285 Wuppertal
+49 0202 89004-135


IBAN: DE45 3506 0190 0009 0909 08